Boxing Day

Boxing Day is celebrated on December 26th of each year. It is observed in Nigeria, the United Kingdom, Australia, Canada, Ghana, New Zealand, Hong Kong, Kenya, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, Jamaica and other countries in the Commonwealth of Nations with a mainly Christian population. In South Africa this public holiday is now known as the Day of Goodwill while in Ireland it is known as St Stephen’s Day or Lá an Dreoilín.

A holiday is also observed in Austria, Germany, Greenland, Norway, the Netherlands, Romania, Sweden, and Switzerland. In continental European countries, the day is often known as “Christmas II” or “Second Christmas Day”.

Though it is not an official holiday in the United States, the term “Boxing Day” is used by some Americans, particularly those who live near the Canada – United States border. In Canada, Boxing Day is listed in the Canada Labour Code as an optional holiday. Only in the province of Ontario has it been made a statutory holiday where all workers receive the time off with pay.